Take a Virtual Tour of our Vegan Products
Some people are allergic to gluten, a mixture of protein fragments found in common cereal grains. Most people who need to avoid gluten have celiac disease, a chronic digestive disorder in which individuals who ingest gluten experience a toxic immune response. Learn more about following a gluten-free diet in our separate guide.
However, others are actually allergic to the protein in wheat itself, including wheat albumin and wheat globulins. People allergic to wheat will want to avoid wheat and its by-products, including:
- Durum, durum flour and durum wheat
- Farro (or emmer)
- Sprouted wheat
- Wheat bran, berries, germ, grass, malt or starch, plus all types of wheat flour
In addition, many foods you might not suspect contain wheat or wheat by-products, including ale and beer, salad dressing and even ice cream. (Culprits often include hydrolyzed vegetable protein, modified starch and “natural flavoring.”) This is by no means an exhaustive list, so be sure to consult your doctor or allergist for advice about navigating a wheat allergy. You can also read more about wheat allergy causes and symptoms at the Mayo Clinic and WebMD.
If you have any questions, just give us a call. And if you’re looking for detailed information about specific products like omega-3 essential fatty acids, chia seeds or chlorella, you can also browse through our articles links to videos.